Popular Problems - Second Impressions

This section is dedicated to the new studio album and the Dublin concert video
yopietro

Popular Problems - Second Impressions

Post by yopietro »

So I think I've learned a lesson about reviewing music. Not that I'm a professional music critic in any capacity. But I do love music and I certainly do have my opinions. And I love Leonard Cohen's music, which has been a huge inspiration for me, on my own songwriting and on my life path as a whole. The lesson that I've learned here is that one should give a number of listens to a record before contributing a review that could be considered useful. Especially when it comes to Cohen's records.

Last week, I had a bit of a "Greil Marcus" moment when I first heard the stream of Popular Problems. Marcus famously opened his Rolling Stone review of Bob Dylan's Self-Portrait album with the infamous question "What is this shit?" When I first listened to Cohen's new album, I was taken aback...even almost offended by the production choices. Not that I thought it was shit, but I was flummoxed. "The girls are too loud and too all over the album!" I protested. "There are too many touches of cheese, fake horns, etc," I declaimed. "Why can't he just record with Roscoe and the touring band??" I even questioned the strength of Patrick Leonard's songwriting contributions.