Rank Leonard lyrics from saddest to happiest - and help a poor student :)

Ask and answer questions about Leonard Cohen, his work, this forum and the websites!
yaniv297

Rank Leonard lyrics from saddest to happiest - and help a poor student :)

Post by yaniv297 » Wed Jan 08, 2020 3:22 pm

Hey fellow Leonard fans! I used to be a bit active here in the old days :)
Please help me :) It may look like spam but I swear it isn't!

Short version - please rank the following Leonard Cohen *lyrics* from the saddest/most negative (first place) in your opinion to the happiest (last place). Try to refer to lyrics only and not the music. It only takes a minute and you'll be helping a study! Thanks :)

Please answer here:

https://surveys.enalyzer.com?pid=meqg6dum

In order to vote: click "select ranking items" and rate the songs in the popup. You can freely change your order/answer until you submit.

If you're wondering why I need this, read on...

I'm a Computer Science student and I'm conducting a research on Sentiment Analysis - which is basically an algorithm's ability to "understand" emotions in text.
I gave the algorithm every song Leonard (and several other artists I love) ever wrote and asked it to give it a score of how happy/sad it is. Part of the study is to compare the algorithm "opinion" to human opinion. Which is where you come in! I want to know what's the fans opinion on saddest/happiest songs, and compare it with the algorithm, to see how good it is.

So please help me! If there's interest I'll update you with the results :)

Thanks a lot!
Yaniv
LisaLCFan

Re: Rank Leonard lyrics from saddest to happiest - and help a poor student :)

Post by LisaLCFan » Wed Jan 08, 2020 11:27 pm