if it be your will

Ask and answer questions about Leonard Cohen, his work, this forum and the websites!
maria Tereza

if it be your will

Post by maria Tereza »

I am studying L. Cohen's lyrics (yes, studying because I'm brazilian and sometimes it's really hard to understand his lyrics due to my limits in English) and I have a question which was not answered by my English friends.

I think I understand the lyrics of if it be your will...but I have a question. When he says: "If it be your will //That a voice be true //From this broken hill //I will sing to you "
What does he mean by "from this broken hill"??? I was trying to translate it to portuguese and could not really find a way. I might be completly wrong, but from What I understand he was referring to himself...is it right? I also relate that to the Calvary as religion is always implicit in his poetry....but I don't know how it could be translated....

Any thoughts?
Thanks anyway,

Love,
Maria Tereza
Rio de Janeiro/ Brazil
Steven

Re: if it be your will

Post by Steven »

Hi Maria,

Here's my interpretation of "From this broken hill": the supplicant is expressing that he is addressing
God from a place of being brought down. An ego-based elevation is now broken and there's a
humility that the praying person is coming from.

Humbly yours, as others' interpretations may be equally or more valid.
maria Tereza

Post by maria Tereza »

Hi Steven,

THanks for your kindness in spending some time trying to answer my question.
I find Cohen's poetry quite a challenge to be interpreted but that's what makes it so rich and beautiful.
Isn't it great to be able to discuss his poetry trying to see how people see them? Thanks to Internet...I see it's quite possible.

Once again, thanks for your help :D

M. Tereza
Geoffrey

Post by Geoffrey »

maria Tereza asked:
>What does he mean by "from this broken hill"???

It comes from Isaiah 55:12, which reads: "The mountains and the hills shall break forth before you into singing."