CONCERT REPORT: Vancouver, B.C., Canada, December 2, 2010

July 25 - December 11, 2010. Concert reports, set lists, photos, media coverage, multimedia links, recollections...
casterbridgecohen

CONCERT REPORT: Vancouver, B.C., Canada, December 2, 2010

Post by casterbridgecohen »

For those of you not aware the site of the next concert Vancouver is without a shadow of doubt the most spectacularly located city in North America. I appreciate that may come across as a subjective even arrogant opinion but the fact is........it is true!

I am a Geographer by training and a Tour Operator by profession and fortunate enough to have visited most of the Canadian Provinces and 48 of the US States and Vancouver is in a league of its own in North America. Quebec, Charleston, Savannah and New Orleans have their charms, New York unbridled energy, San Francisco a few nice hills and Seattle some nice vistas but nowhere else will you find sandy beachs and natural parkland within a few hundred metres of downtown, and ski slopes at 5000ft overlooking the city just a 35 minute drive from downtown. Throw in off shore islands and a magnificent natural harbour and you have one of the worlds truly great cities as far as its location is concerned.

Of the four great Harbour cities that flank the Pacific (Sydney, Hong Kong, San Francisco and Vancouver it is usually Vancouver that people consdider the most spectacular and it is here that Leonard and his magnificent band are due to play this evening. Leonard has played here several times previously (Check out 'Cohen Live') and the most recently in the same venue but then named GM Place in last year. Now renamed Rogers Arena it is still the home of the Canucks - Vancouvers beloved Ice Hockey team.