CONCERT REPORT: Antwerp, July 4

Europe and Israel (July 1 - September 24, 2009). Concert reports, set lists, photos, media coverage, multimedia links, recollections...
Duc

CONCERT REPORT: Antwerp, July 4

Post by Duc »

Just got back from the concert in Antwerp...

sublime...

Thank you Mr. Cohen for tonight and for a lifetime of music.

Jan
Ninotschka

Antwerp - Who was the concert dedicated to?

Post by Ninotschka »

First of all, this is my first time posting, so mods feel free to move if this isn't the right place. :)

Tonight was incredible. Absolutely wonderful. Hallelujah made me cry.

I heard Leonard Cohen say "with your permission, I would like to dedicate this concert to the memory of... (?) [I didn't catch the word as the crowd began to applause]" and once again at the end of the concert "may the soul of (?) rest in peace."

What did you understand?

EDIT: Thanks for the answers. It's strange that I'm from Brussels and read Belgian newspapers but hadn't heard about her death...
Last edited by Ninotschka on Sun Jul 05, 2009 2:28 am, edited 3 times in total.
Womanfromaroom

Re: Antwerp - Who was the concert dedicated to?

Post by Womanfromaroom »

Hi ninotschka,

welcome to the forum! Although I wasn't in Antwerp (even if I would have liked to very much!), I guess it might have been dedicated to famous Belgian singer-songwriter Yasmine? Cf. the following thread: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=15574
It would be a great gesture by Leonard, and very characteristic of him, too!
"You thought that it could never happen / to all the people that you became"...
Love Calls You By Your Name
Jokerman

Re: Antwerp - Who was the concert dedicated to?

Post by Jokerman »

Hey,